What is the upside down in stranger things?

The upside down is an alternate dimension, sort of like a parallel universe, where dangerous creatures live.

---

The "Upside Down" is an alternate dimension, existing as a "dark mirror" in parallel to the human world. Most of flora and fauna present in this dimension is linked together in a hive mind, controlled by the Mind Flayer, forming an enormous superorganism.