What year did johnny carson go off the air?

Johnny Carson signed off the air. May 22, 1992 On this day, comedian Johnny Carson hosted his 4,532nd and last episode of “The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson,” ending a nearly 30-year reign as the king of late-night television.