How is dextrose made?

Dextrose is a common type of added sugar that's made when corn is broken down with acids or enzymes before it's crystallized, according to the U.S. Food & Drug Administration. Simply put, dextrose is sugar derived from corn and it is chemically identical to glucose, or blood sugar.