What happened in the year eighteen eighteen?

On April 4th, 1818, The United States Congress adopted the flag of the United States as having thirteen red and white stripes, with one star for each state (twenty), and additional stars to be added whenever a new state was added to the Union.

---

Some of the events from 1818 were Feb 12 Chile gained independence from Spain, Apr 4 Congress decides on US flag 13 red & white stripes & 20 stars, Apr 7 General Andrew Jackson conquers St Marks, Florida from Seminole Indians, May 4 Netherlands & Britain sign treaty against illegal slave handling.