Why was matt ryan bench?

Ryan suffered a shoulder injury in the Week 7 loss to the Titans, yet Indianapolis head coach Frank Reich was quoted earlier this week saying Ehlinger would be the starter "for the remainder of the season." Strong statement. Insult to injury for Ryan.