What year was revolutionary war?

The American Revolutionary War was about 8 years and 4 months long, from April 19, 1775 to September 3, 1783. It began with the Battle of Lexington and officially ended with the Treaty of Paris. Primary fighting, though, ended with the British surrender at the Battle of Yorktown on October 19, 1781.