What's the temperature of a medium rare roast beef?

The USDA has changed the numbers many times. If you want your beef steak or roast to come out medium-rare, then cook it to about 125 degrees F. Let the meat rest for 5 minutes after cooking, and the temperature will rise to about 130 degrees F, which is a perfect medium-rare.

---

USDA recommends a minimum temp of roast beef to be 145°F, which is classified by chefs as "medium" and by many steak lovers as overcooked. "Medium rare", 130°F to 135°F, is the temp range at which steaks are at their most tender, juicy, and flavorful.