What is the molecular structure of an atom?

Atoms consist of three basic particles: protons, electrons, and neutrons. The nucleus (or center) of the atom contains the protons (are positively charged) and the neutrons (has no charge). The outermost regions of the atom are called electron shells and contain the electrons (negatively charged)