When was lynyrd skynyrd's plane crash?

On October 21, 1977, a Convair CV-240 passenger aircraft ran out of fuel and crashed in a wooded area near Gillsburg, Mississippi. Chartered by the rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd, it was near the end of its flight from Greenville, South Carolina, to Baton Rouge, Louisiana.