What is a mesa biome in minecraft?

What is a mesa biome in minecraft? How rare is a mesa biome in Minecraft? Mesa is a very rare biome which is made up from red sand, cacti, dead bushes and plateaus. The red sand is only one layer thick. Red sand is found in the Mesa itself, not its variants.