Who is the man in the yellow hat?

The Man in the Yellow Hat, is a character in the Curious George movie and TV shows. In the movie, he was referred to as "Ted", while in a deleted scene, his last name was said to be "Shackleford". In the movie, he was voiced by Will Ferrell, while in the TV series, he is voiced by Jeff Bennett.