What does madeleine mean?

Madeline is an English form of Magdalene. It originates in Hebrew language and means "woman from Magdala". It is derived from the name of Jesus's most celebrated and most important woman disciple, Mary Magdalene. She is thought to come from a town on the western shore of the Sea of Galilee, Magdala.