What is a geisha house?

An okiya is the lodging house/drinking establishment to which a maiko or geisha is affiliated with during her career as a geisha. ... A geisha's engagements at parties, and her lessons in singing, traditional dance, musical instruments and tea ceremony are also booked through her okiya.