Is peppermint oil poisonous to dogs?

Peppermint is considered toxic to dogs by the ASPCA. Other essential oils considered bad for dogs include Tea Tree, Cinnamon, Citrus, Pennyroyal, Pine, Sweet birch, Wintergreen, and Ylang ylang. Consult with your veterinarian before using anything containing these oils.