Is saffron the most expensive spice in the world?

Quality saffron can cost around $3,000 for just two pounds. Saffron's reputation as the most expensive spice in the world is because of the growing process. Only a small part of the saffron flower the stigmat. So it takes some 75,000 saffron flowers to make just one pound of spice.