Is pepperoni spicy?

Traditionally, made by mashing pork and beef, pepperoni is a cured meat product often seasoned with peppers, garlic, fennel, or mustard seeds and stuffed into a casing. It adds a slightly spicy and meaty flavor to pizza that is purely its own.