What is a gromit?

A grommet is: 1. an eyelet placed in a hole in a sheet or panel to protect or insulate a rope or cable passed through it or to prevent the sheet or panel from being torn. 2. (British) a tube surgically implanted in the eardrum to drain fluid from the middle ear.