Can you over water hydrangeas?

Yes; hydrangeas can be over-watered. They require moist soil, but if the soil is too wet, the plant may suffer from root rot. Overwatering a Hydrangea can also stunt its growth, slow down its production of blooms, and eventually lead to its death.