Why is it called a chinese auction?

“Chinese auctions” became popular during the late 1800s when Chinese immigrants came to the US facing discrimination, low wages, and lack of legal protections. Many believe this is the origin of “Chinese auction,” as a name for raffle-style fundraising events with inexpensive tickets and prizes.