What is the definition of the fenestration?

A fenestration is the arrangement, proportioning, and design of windows and doors in a building, an opening in a surface (such as a wall or membrane) or the operation of cutting an opening in the bony labyrinth between the inner ear and tympanum to replace natural fenestrae that are not functional