Do honey nut cheerios have nuts in them?

The original recipe for Honey Nut Cheerios from 1979 did contain nuts. In 2006 they dropped the nuts in favor of the much cheaper, but still almond-tasting, ground peach pits. People with nut allergies should still avoid this cereal because of the pits' similarity to almonds.