Do sunflowers need a lot of water?

Do sunflowers need a lot of water? Generally, the larger the plant, the more water it needs. Sunflowers need lots of water to germinate. After that, they need about 1 inch per week total, spread out over the week. Don't let the soil dry out in hot climates. In the heat, they need more water.