Is arcanine a legendary pokemon?

It is thought that arcanine was supposed to be a legendary pokemon, but the idea was scrapped. This belief is based on a mural in the anime depicting arcanine along with the three legendary birds. It could also just be a placeholder to make the mural even numbered.

---

No, that's an anime misconception.