Who is the central character in nineteen eighty four?

Winston Smith, fictional character, the protagonist of George Orwell's cautionary novel Nineteen Eighty-four (1949). A minor bureaucrat in the civil service, Winston Smith lives a drab, conforming existence but wants to experience a meaningful life as an individual.