How are the olympic cities chosen?

It is the members of the International Olympics Committee, meeting at their Session, who choose the future Olympic sites. The host city is elected by a majority of the votes cast by secret ballot. Cities who wish to host the Olympics put in a bid to the IOC, who sees if they can afford to host.