What happened to the aztecs?

The Spanish brought many deadly diseases when they arrived in Mexico which caused many Aztec to die. Then, invaders led by the Spanish conquistador Hernán Cortés overthrew the Aztec Empire by force in 1521, bringing an end to Mesoamerica's last great native civilization.