What is java script?

JavaScript often abbreviated as JS, is a high-level, interpreted programming language that conforms to the ECMAScript specification. It is a language that is also characterized as dynamic, weakly typed, prototype-based and multi-paradigm.

---

Javascript is an interpreted language originally created to enhance web sites making the internet more dynamic. It allows things such as animation, partial web page loads which don't require the entire screen to go blank, and web applications which run entirely in the web browser.