How to care for sequoia trees?

Sequoia trees grow best in full sun but will tolerate light shade. They like consistently moist (but not wet) climates and soils. Sequoias prefer soil that is deep, loose, well-drained, sandy loam. Giant sequoias do not tolerate dry soils, clay soils or extreme temperatures.