Is there any oxygen in outer space?

A team of scientists discovered the first oxygen molecules in deep space in 2011. The oxygen molecules were detected in a star-forming region of the Orion nebula, roughly 1,500 light-years from Earth, by the European Space Agency's Herschel Space Observatory