Do cardinals fly south for the winter?

Northern Cardinals are permanent residents throughout their range and do not migrate south. Their range has been expanding further North.

---

Cardinals do not typically fly south for the winter because their food and nesting space is available in winter. They prefer to roost in evergreens like pines and spruces, as well as hawthorn, blueberry, clematis, or grapevine thickets. And, they are not picky eaters.