How do ships sink?

Ships sink by taking in water until the buoyancy of the ship is less than that of the water in which it is floating.

---

Ships sink when they no linger have positive buoyancy. This can happen if the ship takes on water, if cargo or ballast shifts, or if the ship is damaged by heavy weather or a collision.