How do you soften brown sugar that has gotten hard?

Touted as the fastest way to bring hardened brown sugar back to life, the wet towel method involves putting your hardened brown sugar into a bowl, covering it with a damp paper or kitchen towel, and microwaving it in 20 second intervals until the sugar is softened.