What is a japan?

According to Wikipedia, Japan is an island in the East Asia, located in the Northwest Pacific Ocean. Known worldwide for its traditional art, tea ceremonies, calligraphy and flower arranging. Is one of the most technically advanced and literate nations, and the third largest economy in the world.