In minecraft can you mine iron with a golden pickaxe?

In minecraft can you mine iron with a golden pickaxe? Is a gold pickaxe better than iron? Golden tools are extremely efficient. A golden pickaxe will go through a block of cobblestone in 0.25 seconds, the fastest of all tools. Even diamond pickaxes are slower in the process.