Did anyone ever escape from alcatraz?

There are stories of three escapees that swam to the mainland and fled to South America. According to the legend, Frank Morris and the brothers John and Clarence Anglin managed to burrow from the prison using spoons and discarded blades. However, the FBI concluded they drowned in the bay.