Tell me about the goliath spider?

The Goliath Bird-Eater Spider is native to the rainforests of South America. It is a large spider with legs up to 30 centimeters; with its massive body, many experts claim it is the largest in the world. This Spider was named early on by explorers that happened to see one eating a Humming Bird.