Can birds understand each other?

Different types of birds may understand what each other are saying. Birdsong is more like music, rather than a true language. ... Birds recognise the alarm calls of other species, but the song of a lovesick sparrow is of no interest to a pigeon, so there is no reason for them to pay attention.