What's mercury retrograde?

Mercury retrograde is an important Astrological event. During this period, which happens 3-4 times a year, Mercury appears to be moving backwards. It does not, but is due to the planetary alignments and speed of circumnavigating the sun. Astrologists recommend making no key decisions at this time.