Why was raymond burr in a wheelchair?

Raymond Burr played a detective, Robert Ironside, in a TV detective drama series named "Ironside". In the show, he was wounded by a sniper, lost the use of his legs as a result of the shooting, and needed to use a wheelchair as a result of his injury. Mr. Burr in real life was NOT handicapped.