How many gigabytes are on a d. v. d.?

Manufacturers express disc capacity in terms of how much computer data a disc can contain. DVD-R, DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD+RW and DVD-RAM discs come in 4.7 GB single and 9.4 GB double-sided and 1.46 GB single and 2.92 GB double-sided sizes