What's the substitute for salt?

In place of salt, try substituting fresh herbs and spices, acids such as lemon lime or orange juice, flavored vinegar, garlic and onions, umami powder, broth or gravy. Pre-packaged substitutes sometimes use potassium chloride or monosodium glutamate, m.s.g., instead of sodium chloride salt.