How do you tell the difference between a zucchini and a cucumber?

Cucumbers have a cold and waxy bumpy feeling exterior and Zucchinis have a rough and dry exterior. Cucumbers are a member of the gourd family. Another difference is the way that they are cooked. When cucumbers are cooked they become wilted but still maintain a slight crunch.