How did the seasons get their names?

The term “winter” comes from a Proto-Germanic word, wentruz, meaning "wet" or "white". Spring started out as “springing time” like plants springing up. Summer came from the Proto-Germanic word sumur meaning together and Autumn came from an Old French word, autompne meaning "to increase".