Is white wine vinegar the same as white vinegar?

No, the differences between the two types of vinegar is that white vinegar is made from distilled grain (e.g. corn) & water, whereas white wine vinegar is made from white wine such as pinot gris & champagne. White vinegar has a harsh sour taste, while white wine vinegar has a mellow fruity taste.

---

White wine vinegar is mild and slightly fruity. It smells sweeter compared to white vinegar, and the taste is much less lip-puckeringly sour. It's made by fermenting white wine, which results in acetic acid.