Is white wine vinegar the same as white vinegar?

No, the differences between the two types of vinegar is that white vinegar is made from distilled grain (e.g. corn) & water, whereas white wine vinegar is made from white wine such as pinot gris & champagne. White vinegar has a harsh sour taste, while white wine vinegar has a mellow fruity taste.