Is institute a proper noun?

The word institute is not a proper noun. A proper noun is one that is used to denote a specific person, place, or thing. An institute is not a specific place, it describes a type of place. To illustrate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a proper noun, but the word institute is not.