What is a finishing sauce?

A term commonly applied to mixtures that are served over various foods either as it finishes cooking or for use after it is served. As an example, a Finishing Sauce may be mixed into spaghetti as a pasta sauce or served as a topping over sliced pieces of roasted meat such as roast beef.