What is a nuclear gases?

Most nuclear reactors are fueled with a compound known as uranium dioxide. This uranium dioxide is put together in a fuel assembly & inserted into the nuclear reactor—where it can stay for several months or up to a few years. While in the reactor the fuel undergoes nuclear fission & releases energy.