Is half and half and heavy whipping cream the same?

No. The main difference between half and half, whipping cream, and heavy whipping cream is basically in the milk fat content. Half and half contains 10 to 18 percent fat. Whipping cream has a higher fat content with 30 to 36 percent fat, and heavy cream has 36 to 40 percent fat.