What kind of flower is used to make pizza dough?

Common whole wheat flour, bleached or unbleached, makes an acceptable pizza crust. Semolina flour is a gourmet choice, as is pastry flour. The best choice is "00" grade flour, a finally milled product with excellent protein content.

---

Bread flour is typically used to make pizza crust at home. It’s got a higher gluten content than all purpose flour and gives pizza crust crispiness on the outside and chewiness in the middle.