What is the definition of mycelium?

Mycelium is a biological term. A mycelium is a mass of thread-like filaments called hyphae which transport water and spikes of electrical potential. Mycelium typically refers to the vegetative or root portion of a fungus, however mycelia are also found associated with certain types of bacteria.